Grimes partners with WeTransfer to activate the creative community with collaborative art project

Musician, Grimes, shares raw files of her new single via WeTransfer to inspire creators to make their own videos.

IMG_8497.JPG
  • JPG
IMG_8497.JPG
UNDER EMBARGO UNTIL 11am PT / 6pm GMT / 7pm CET

(Los Angeles, CA - April 1, 2020 - 11am PT)

Today, Grimes released the video for “You’ll Miss Me When I’m Not Around”, a track from her latest album, MISS ANTHROPOCENE, which was released last month. Grimes has announced an open call to creatives in isolation to create their own version of her music video, in collaboration with WeTransfer to distribute her raw video files.

Grimes grew up on bootleg sampling and DIY creation and considers it a vital part of exploring personal style and creativity.  She shares her new video in front of a green screen, encouraging creators to generate their own videos, as part of a collective art project, using the raw files and audio stems she is making available to all.  

Grimes shares, “Because we’re all in lockdown we thought if people are bored and wanna learn new things, we could release the raw components of a music video for anyone who wants to try making stuff using our footage."

WeTransfer’s Head of Music, Tiff Yu adds, “Grimes has always been a fan of collaboration and open source creativity.  This project is a great opportunity to let your mind run wild and free, within any creative field.  With no limitations, timing or restrictions, she’s made a project for where creatives can be truly creative, without worrying about any red tape or timing.”

 

WeTransfer is helping Grimes activate their user base for this callout, 75% of all WeTransfer users identify as creatives or as working within the creative industry. The campaign will launch on WeTransfer’s website through full screen advertising and across social media. WePresent, WeTransfer’s editorial platform, will also host an exclusive interview with the artist later this year. 

Download the assets for the project from WeTransfer via the links below:

Instructions, includes links to raw files, lyrics, cover art files, audio files: https://we.tl/t-VhjIsjxA8B

Press assets: https://we.tl/t-keoqlXWMO4

Alongside her partnership with WeTransfer, Grimes is also working with ArtStation and Native Instruments to reach the creative community and inspire collaboration and creation.

Creators can post their videos on YouTube and share the link on Twitter and Instagram using the hashtag #grimesartkit. Grimes will be sharing some of her favorites on her social media channels, including a curated playlist of the video submissions on her youtube.

About Grimes

Twitter: @grimezsz

Instagram: @Grimes

Wesbite: https://www.grimesmusic.com/

IMG_8491.JPG
  • JPG
IMG_8491.JPG
IMG_8493.JPG
  • JPG
IMG_8493.JPG
IMG_8492.JPG
  • JPG
IMG_8492.JPG

Press contact details

Related Topics